NEA Awards Nominees Are Announced

The annual NEA Awards show, dubbed the Oscars of the extreme-sports world, was the hottest ticket last summer. The event in Munich, Germany brought together 90 of the world’s best athletes, more than 1,000 screaming fans, and a host of celebrities.[IMAGE 1]

This year, the people behind the NEA Awards have kicked it up a notch. More than 126 magazines from sixteen nations on five continents have nominated 175 athletes in a host of categories ranging from surfing to skateboarding to the newest section, kitesurfing. In addition, NEA will dish out some industry-related awards including best print-ad campaign and best Web site.

Last year Reef took top honors for Best Print Media — beating out ads from DC, Quiksilver, and others — and Billabong took home the award for best Web site ( and best video (“Sabotaj”). Lisa Anderson won for best female surfer and Kelly Slater garnered best male surfer. Taj Burrow won for best surf newcomer.

Fans will decide on the NEA Award winners by voting online from April 16 – June 30 on Profiles and information about each nominee are on the Web site. To guarantee a fair competition, users have to register before voting. Double voting is prevented.

The Nea Award Show will be held on July 23rd, 2001 during the world’s biggest sports trade show, the ISPO in Munich, Germany.

Below are the all the surf-related nominees (visit for a complete listing):

BEST SURFER (MALE):Kelly Slater (USA), Rob Machado (USA), Shane Dorian (USA), Sunny Garcia (USA), Taj Burrow (USA)

BEST SURFER (FEMALE):Keala Kennelly (USA), Layne Beachley (AUS), Lisa Anderson (USA), Megan Abubo (USA), Serena Brooke (USA) [IMAGE 2]

BEST SURFER (NEWCOMER):Bruce Irons (USA), Joel Parkinson (USA), Ozzie Wright (AUS), Tiago Peres (PRT), Tita Tavares (BRZ)

VIDEO AWARD:Rip Curl’s Super Computer, Demons of Dirt, eS Menkati, Moment’s Notice, The Resistance


BEST PRINT AD:Quiksilver, Volcom, Burton, Forum, Carhardt

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD:Laird Hamilton (USA), Tony Hawk (USA), Bjoern Dunkerbeck (NED), Shaun Palmer (USA), Terje Haakonsen (NOR)

NEA SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD:Laird Hamilton (USA) — Tow-in surfing at Teahupoo.(plus four others)