Taylor Knox Wins The Reef Biarritz Surf Trophee

San Diego, CA (November 7, 2000)-Reef announced Taylor Knox (USA) as the winner of the first ever ReefBiarritz Surf Trophee. Knox brings home 10,062 US in prize money and bragging rights until next year’scontest. In a controversial move, the semi-finalist surfers decided to split the 80,500 US evenlybetween them before the event was completed. The top eight surfers brought home 10 062 US.

After three rounds, the semi-finals brought Conan Hayes, Taylor Knox, Martin Potter and Beau Emertontogether for heat one while the second semi-final round pitted Taj Burrow, Tom Curren, Rob Machado andFred Robin against each other. Taylor squeezed by Rob Machado for a seat in the final with a tenth ofa point separating the two. Conditions for the finals were not ideal with strong on shore winds andchoppy 3-6 foot surf, however, a large storm was forecast for the following day and the decision tocontinue through the finals was made.

The finals saw a stacked heat consisting of Emerton, Knox, Burrow and Curren. As the surf deterioratedthroughout the final it became clear that the battle was between Burrow and Knox. Almost identical inpoints midway through the final, Knox turned it on and came away with first place, with Taj Burrow nottoo far behind.

Aside from a few days of good conditions the waves at Grand Plage were big and stormy. However, duringdown time, the surfers found sanctuary in an epic free surf at Mundaka.

Final results
1st- Taylor Knox USA
2nd- Taj Burrow AUS
3rd- Tom Curren USA
4th- Beau Emerton AUS
5th- Martin Potter UK
5th- Rob Machado USA
7th-Conan Hayes HAW
7th- Fred Robin FRA