Vans World Am Contest

Vans Inc. is proud to announce the winners of the 2000 Vans Amateur World Championships of Skateboarding which took place January 27-28, 2001. Held at the Vans Skatepark in Orange, California, 73 competitors from 7 countries and 21 states skated for the title. In the end, Austin Seaholm of Anaheim, California and Mizael Simao of Brazil took home the street and vert titles respectively.

Each winner was awarded a one-year pro contract from Vans, a place as a demo skater on the 2001 Vans Warped Tour, and financial support on the pro-circuit–allowing them their first opportunity to tour as professional skaters. “I’m so excited, I’m in shock,” said Austin Seaholm after his street contest victory. “I thought Patrick might have had it but I just stayed on my board the whole run. This has been totally cool. Thanks to Steve and everyone who made this contest possible.” Seaholm was able to edge out Patrick Melcher and Chris Kendall with tricks like his kickflip Indy grab over the funbox and benihana finger flip.In the vert competition, Mizael Simao was able to defeat Roger Bruinsma and Jeff Thrush landing tricks like his solid 540. “This is the best thing that’s ever happened to me in my life,” said Simao. “I’d just like to thank all my sponsors, the association for putting on amateur competitions such as these, and thanks for the support of the sport of skateboarding.”

Results Street
1. Austin Seaholm
2. Patrick Melcher
3. Chris Kendall
4. Mason Hamilton
5. Robert Poyner
6. James Beach
7. Jereme Rogers
8. Zach Gibson
9. Matt Scarrott
10. Chad Rincover

Vert Results
1. Mizael Simao
2. Roger Bruinsma
3. Jeff Thrush
4. Tim Wells
5. Curt Baker
6. Mark Roth
7. Dale Bosta
8. Steve Kuhn
9. Christian Mongenais
10. Lincoln Nass